OPA-MCE Login | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join OPA
News & Press: OPA Announcements

2018 Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Winners Announced

Tuesday, March 20, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Karen Hardin
Share |

The Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Fund committee has selected two winners for 2018. They are Anna Abate of Sam Houston State University and Kathleen Collins of the University of Massachusetts.

Anna Abate’s research focuses on the relations between perceptions of the justice system, chances for success, ethnicity, and recidivism among juvenile offenders. Moreover, her research includes investigating the role of trauma in the development of aggression and stereotype threat on offending patterns and aggression in inpatient adolescents and justice-involved youth as well as the impact of racial differences in parental expectations on parental dysfunctional discipline. Currently, she examines neurobiological and social cognitive mechanisms associated with the mental and behavioral outcomes of stereotype threat in a police encounter among minority young adults. As the first study to examine the relations among stereotype threat, social cognition, cortisol/testosterone, aggression, and affective states, her research seeks to elucidate the fundamental mechanisms by which stereotype threat relates to psychopathology in minority young adults.  

Abate is a third year doctoral student at Sam Houston State University  in Huntsville, Texas.

Kathleen Collins’ research explores the intersection of LGBTQ mental health and psychotherapy process work through the use of mixed methodology. Her recent projects include testing the ability of online expressing writing interventions to reduce distress in LGBTQ adults who have experienced heterosexism and conducting a task analysis of these writing responses to identify micro-processes that progress in productive and unproductive ways. Her current project uses grounded theory to analyze interviews with participants who completed the aforementioned study to understand what they found helpful about the process of expressive writing. Through this work, Kathleen aims to gain a nuanced understanding of how people derive benefits from expressive writing so as to inform the development of low-cost, population-specific, and empirically-supported interventions that help LGBTQ people heal from experiences of marginalization.

Collins is a second year doctoral student in clinical psychology at the University of Massachusetts in Boston.

This is the eleventh year for the Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship. Past winners are: 

  • 2017 Liz Weber Ollen, Clark University & Madison Silverstein of Auburn University
  • 2016 Stacy Ko, Iowa State University & Chassitty Whitman, City University of New York
  • 2015 Caitlin Cavanagh, The University of California, Irvine & Barbara Wood Roberts, Idaho State University
  • 2014 Calia A. Torres, University of Alabama & Jeremy J. Eggleston, Fordham University
  • 2013 Jim Kim, University of California-Davis & David Luck, University of California-Los Angeles
  • 2012 Marisa Franco & Anahi Collado-Rodriguez, University of Maryland
  • 2011 Ana Fernandez, Long Island University/Brooklyn Campus
  • 2010 Ariz Rojas, University of South Florida
  • 2009 Sangetta Parikshak, University of Kansas 
  • 2008 Janelle Hines of University of Cincinnati

About the Dr. Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Fund 
This scholarship supports research/training and community projects in the area of diversity/multiculturalism. Awards up to $500 per recipient will be granted once a year and the winner will be announced in March. Grants are to be used to support or assist applicants in covering expenses related to their projects or research. The deadline for submission is the second Friday in January. The award application must be submitted electronically to the chair of the review committee by 4:30 p.m. on the day of the deadline.

The Dr. Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Fund is supported by generous gifts, grants and contributions from individuals and organizations who seek to honor Dr. Sullivan and advance important diversity initiatives or research in states, provinces and territories.

Additional information about the Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship is available at www.ohpsych.org/MichaelSullivanDiversityScholarship

Call for applications for the 2019 scholarships begin in the fall of 2018.

About Dr. Michael Sullivan 
Dr. Michael Sullivan served as the Assistant Executive Director for State Advocacy at the American Psychological Association. In this position, he managed the Practice Directorate’s program of making resources available to 60 affiliated psychological associations in every state and several Canadian provinces and U.S. territories. A fellow of APA, Dr. Sullivan has been a strong supporter of state psychological association involvement as a means of promoting diverse and multicultural leadership in psychology and positively impacting communities.  
Additional information about the Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship is available at www.ohpsych.org/MichaelSullivanDiversityScholarship

About Ohio Psychological Association
Located in Columbus, Ohio, the Ohio Psychological Association is a membership organization of approximately 1,600 Ohio psychologists. Its mission is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and to improve people’s lives in Ohio. For more information, visit www.ohpsych.org.